The Georgetown Lighthouse

The Georgetown Lighthouse was first a wooden lighthouse completed in 1817 by the Dutch and it’s purpose was to aid vessels and ships into the Demerara River from the Atlantic Ocean.  On June 1st, 1830 the structure was rebuilt… Continue reading

Aerial View of the Kingston area in Georgetown

Photo is an aerial view of the Kingston area in Georgetown.

At the very top center area of the photo is the Red House which house the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre.   Moving down on the right, the Umana… Continue reading

Pegasus Hotel in Guyana

The Pegasus Hotel in Guyana is the best hotel in Guyana and has been since 1969 even with several changes in ownership and name since then.  The hotel and it’s facilities are located on Seawall Road Kingston walking distance… Continue reading

Phagwah in Guyana

Phagwah (or Holi) is a spring time festival celebrated by Hindus in India and countries with large Indian populations which includes Guyana and Trinidad.

On the day of celebration, observers traditionally wear white clothing and throw harmless coloured water and… Continue reading

Easter in Guyana 2011

Easter celebrations in Guyana will begin on Friday April 22, 2011  and marks the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ in the Christian calendar.  Easter Monday, April 25th is a National Holiday.

Easter In Guyana - Kite Flying… Continue reading

Page 1 of 912345...Last »

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews