Page 1 of 212

Easter in Guyana 2011

Easter celebrations in Guyana will begin on Friday April 22, 2011  and marks the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ in the Christian calendar.  Easter Monday, April 25th is a National Holiday.

Easter In Guyana - Kite Flying… Continue reading

The Georgetown Lighthouse

The Georgetown Lighthouse was first a wooden lighthouse completed in 1817 by the Dutch and it’s purpose was to aid vessels and ships into the Demerara River from the Atlantic Ocean.  On June 1st, 1830 the structure was rebuilt… Continue reading

Lethem Rodeo 2011

The Lethem / Rupununi is scheduled to take place on April 23rd, 2011 to April 25th at the Triple R Rodeo Ground in Lethem.  Lethem is the largest town and the main commerical center of the Guyanese Rupununi Savannah.… Continue reading

Mashramani 2011

Mashramani is a modern-day version of an original word that connotes “a community celebration after successful co-operative work”. Mashramani Festival is Guyana’s varied annual country-wide celebration in observance of its Republican anniversary; its actual day of celebration is February 23.… Continue reading

Page 1 of 212

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews