Page 1 of 212

Aerial View of the Kingston area in Georgetown

Photo is an aerial view of the Kingston area in Georgetown.

At the very top center area of the photo is the Red House which house the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre.   Moving down on the right, the Umana… Continue reading

A Jetty along the Kingston Georgetown seawall

A very old Dutch Jetty. The Kingston/Georgetown Seawall is now a popular place for joggers, liming, visitors, kite flying during Easter and fireworks during national celebrations.

Share and Enjoy

Typical Home in Central Georgetown

An example of the architecture in a typical wooden home in the Central Georgetown.

Share and Enjoy

Jagdeo / Hinds Take Off

Prime Minister Takes Off in a Helo

Image by US Embassy Guyana During Continuing Promise 2010, both the President of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo and the Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds, flew out to visit the USS Iwo Jima. They traveled on… Continue reading

Page 1 of 212

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews