Travel Agencies in Georgetown, Guyana

CONNECTIONS TRAVEL SERVICE 6 Avenue of the Republic, Georgetown Tel: (592) 227-2810 / 227-2832 CONSTELLATION TOURS LTD 140 ‘A’ Quamina Street, Georgetown Tel: (592) 223-7276 – 8

EXPEDIA TRAVEL ‘N’ TOURS 4C New Road, Vreed-en-Hoop Tel: (592) 254-0359 – 61… Continue reading

Lake Mainstay Resort …Guyana’s paradise

Thinking of enjoying the serene beauty of nature away from the hustle and bustle of city life?

Then the ideal place to head to is Lake Mainstay Resort, Guyana’s biggest and boldest adventure holiday experience on the Essequibo Coast in… Continue reading

Are you Travelling to Guyana?

Entry Requirements

All visitors require a valid passport.  Those arriving by air require an onward plane ticket.  Visas are necessary for all visitors except nationals of the following countries:

Getting Around Georgetown

Georgetown in Guyana’s capital city.  It was so named after the British conquered the Dutch in 1812.  The name originates from Fort St. George which was established at the mouth of the Demerara River as a signal station… Continue reading

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews