Page 4 of 9« First...23456...Last »

Lethem Rodeo 2011

The Lethem / Rupununi is scheduled to take place on April 23rd, 2011 to April 25th at the Triple R Rodeo Ground in Lethem.  Lethem is the largest town and the main commerical center of the Guyanese Rupununi Savannah.… Continue reading

Mashramani 2011

Mashramani is a modern-day version of an original word that connotes “a community celebration after successful co-operative work”. Mashramani Festival is Guyana’s varied annual country-wide celebration in observance of its Republican anniversary; its actual day of celebration is February 23.… Continue reading

Places and times Mashramani 2011 Activities

Activity Date Location Chutney Rehearsals January 18th, 18:00hr Band Room Junior Calypso competition January 29th. 19:00hr Linden Community Centre Road March Competition January 29th Closing Date for registration Band Concert February 5th Georgetown Seawall Band Stands “Bright-Up” – Guyana Competition… Continue reading

Travel Agencies in Georgetown, Guyana

CONNECTIONS TRAVEL SERVICE 6 Avenue of the Republic, Georgetown Tel: (592) 227-2810 / 227-2832 CONSTELLATION TOURS LTD 140 ‘A’ Quamina Street, Georgetown Tel: (592) 223-7276 – 8

EXPEDIA TRAVEL ‘N’ TOURS 4C New Road, Vreed-en-Hoop Tel: (592) 254-0359 – 61… Continue reading

Page 4 of 9« First...23456...Last »

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews