Page 6 of 9« First...45678...Last »

Guyana: A Brief History

Before the Spanish, French, Dutch and British ever thought about establishing colonies and fighting over the area now known as Guyana, aboriginal peoples had settled these lands for centuries. The Warrau Indians were thought to have been here before 900… Continue reading

Jagdeo / Hinds Take Off

Prime Minister Takes Off in a Helo

Image by US Embassy Guyana During Continuing Promise 2010, both the President of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo and the Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds, flew out to visit the USS Iwo Jima. They traveled on… Continue reading

Georgetown – the garden city

Georgetown, the capital of Guyana, is almost fairy tale in appearance, thanks to the tree-lined streets and avenues and the quaint Dutch colonial and Victorian architecture stemming from its days as Dutch and English colonies. Georgetown lies below the… Continue reading

Local Birds: Blue Sakies

Two blue sakies

Blue Sakies

Share and Enjoy

Page 6 of 9« First...45678...Last »

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews