Page 8 of 9« First...56789

Guyana Banking and Money

Banking Hours

Banking Hours at most banks are relatively short:

Mondays to Thursdays: 08:00 — 14:00 Fridays: 08:00-14:30 Main commercial banks

Bank of Baroda: Georgetown Bank of Nova Scotia: Georgetown (3 branches) Bartica, New Amsterdani, Parika Citizen’s Bank: Georgetown, Parika… Continue reading

Business Contacts and Organisations – Part 1

Berbice Chamber of Commerce and Development

Chapel Street, New Amsterdam, Berbice Telephone: 333-3324

Consultative Association of Guyanese Industry

57 Waterloo Street Georgetown fel: 226-4603

Forest Products Association of Guyana

157 Waterloo Street, Georgetown Tel: 226-9848

Georgetown Chamber of Commerce &… Continue reading

Hotels in Georgetown, Guyana

Finding lodgings in this ‘land of many waters’ is incredibly easy. Whatever you desire there is sure to be an accommodation for you.

Prefer to reside in high budget style and comfort? The most classy hotels include

Guyanese Music

Guyana’s musical roots are a mixture of the popular musical genres of the Caribbean, the oldest of which is calypso.


Reggae group, First Born

Local recording artists such as Tamika Marshall, First Born, Natural Black, Times 2,  Fojo… Continue reading

Page 8 of 9« First...56789

Guyana Facts

Official Name
The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Georgetown is the capital city.

National Symbols
Coat of ArmsNational Flag



Approximately 751,223 (Census 2002) of which 90% live along the coastal strip and banks of the three major rivers. The ethnic composition of the population is as follows:

  • East Indian 43.5%
  • Black (African) 30.2%
  • Mixed 16.7%
  • Amerindian 9.1%
  • Other 0.5%


North East of South America between 1o & 9o North Latitude and 57o & 61o West Longitude, bordering Venezuela to the West, Brazil to the South, Suriname to the East.


The official language is English. Often spoken with a Caribbean Creole flavour. Guyana is also the only English speaking country in South America.


Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 and a “Cooperative Republic in 1970, when a non executive President replaced the Governor-General. A new constitution in 1980 gave the President wide executive powers. The Cabinet is headed by the President, and there is a 65-member National Assembly elected by proportional representation.

President: Bharat Jagdeo
Prime Minister: Samuel Hinds

Other information

Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 04:00
Area: 214,970 km2 or 83,000 sq mi
Country Code: 592
We drive on the left side of the road.

More information about Guyana | World Cities: Georgetown

Health Links

Best Pharmacy Reviews